top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassandra Leigh

Why write erotica?

Why writers--why anyone--should try writing erotica at some point in time.

When I recently completed my erotic novella, Lydia's Letters, I sent it to a writer friend for a light edit. She loved it and when I encouraged her to try writing erotica she wasn't sure she could. I was surprised as she is not a prude and she is a good writer. I encouraged her to try the genre without thinking much about it, but then wondered why writing in this genre is satisfying and valuable.


Writing erotica is a wonderful break from writing in general. Erotica is not my primary genre. I teach business writing, write business documents, and write novels (I've written two so far; I'm not sure that speaks to a trend yet). I write erotica on occasion when the muse strikes, whereas my other writing--while I am not lacking in ideas--is a daily practice. Erotica is in-addition-to and an escape from the other writing. For me, writing is like marathon running. Writing erotica is like cross-training--going for an enjoyable bike ride one day instead of vigorous training. So, in this sense, erotica keeps my writing muscles strong even when I am not working on my major project or goal.


In general, the writing process helps us understand who we are and clarify our thoughts. Whether we are journaling or writing an academic article, writing forces us to organize ideas and put them into words, either for just ourselves or for others. Similarly, writing erotica helps us understand our own

perspective on sex and explore our fantasies on a deeper level than reading erotica might. While I might read an erotic story about almost anything and find it fascinating (though I do not like all sub-genres universally), I am more inclined to write about what truly interests me and expand my understanding of my fantasies through writing.


Writers are always striving to improve their skills. Writing is a practice of constant reflection. Writing erotica is a fantastic way to practice, particularly descriptions. Describing sex is interesting, but also challenging because there are many opportunities to write incredibly cringe-worthy material; size, shape, moisture levels can be either sexy or a complete turn off. Descriptions in other writing (fiction, memoir, other) is also difficult but does not necessarily have such dramatic results for the reader. That said, we don't want our audiences to feel indifferent. Writing and reflecting on sex forces us (writers) to practice creating powerful images that move rather than alienate readers.


Writing erotica, too, is a practice in truth telling. One of the biggest differences between good and bad writing (taste level and personal interest aside) is the writer's ability to go all the way, regardless of genre. If you have ever read a work in progress and felt lukewarm about it, there is a good chance the author is holding back; even if the writing style is excellent and the pacing is amazing, the work is not compelling. Good writing means being exposed. Writing erotica is a practice in not holding back. It is actually harder to bare our souls, which is what we have to do in any writing, than to write about bare and sensuous bodies. Writing erotica, in this sense, is like a stepping stone that allows you to get comfortable with exposure.


One of the other reasons I enjoy writing erotica is that it is easy. With erotica, there is no (rarely any) sub-text, characters have to be consistent but not necessarily deep or fleshed-out, and the plot is fairly linear--touch happens, parts go here, fun is to be had by all. The focus is on the physical in the moment rather than a concept or an intangible human experience. I would even say that erotica does not have to be good; certainly there is bad erotica out there, but the audience for the genre is very flexible and forgiving of errors in such things as spelling, continuity, or cheesy dialogue.


Surprisingly, erotica is a sharing medium. People do not write erotica for themselves alone and it is one of the easiest ways to share your writing, either in free forums or through self-publishing. It's interactive in the sense that others read and respond and share back. The informal community of erotic writers is strong and supportive, which is not something you often get in other genres.


Ultimately, writing erotica is fun--perhaps not as fun as reading it, but I would encourage anyone to turn their hand to writing it (at least one of them).

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page